CMH boundary map

Our region

Most of the geographical area is served by Counties Manukau Health (CMDHB) is part of the territorial authority (TA) of Auckland Council.  However, small areas of the southern extent of the DHB are part of Waikato District and Hauraki District territorial authories. 

Link to map of Counties Manukau Health boundaries.

The estimated Counties Manukau population for 2016 is 534,750 or 11% of the total New Zealand population. 

DHB planning is based on estimated resident population projections and socio-demographic information from the latest Census. Information about how health services are utilised also informs service planning.

Click here for our annual update with population projections from Statistics New Zealand, produced specifically for the Ministry of Health with prioritised ethnicity as used in the health sector.

Read more 

counties manukau landscapeLocalities

We manage health services by locality. The establishment of Localities was the first step in our Integrated Care journey. Counties Manukau is made up of four geographical areas where hospital and primary care staff work together to support patients in their community.

The role of primary care is expanding as more health services are made available in the community, closer to patients' homes. Our focus is to provide seamless, high quality health care in any setting.

learn more button